Winds of Change

So much has happened in the months since my last post. We lost our home, got a new car, and have made some changes. 

In my last post, I mentioned that my car broke down. Which really, really sucks when you live in the country and have kids. Our family is blessed with many people who were willing to give us rides, and one member of our family allowed us to use his pickup, which was great, despite the fact that we couldn’t all go anywhere together. Shortly after this happened, we received a 72 hour notice to move out. Yep. We had fallen behind in rent, but were in contact with the landlord and had every intent to pay as soon as we could. Well, they became suddenly very impatient. We literally had 3 days to move out. Which meant I couldn’t take any jobs in that time. Which meant a smaller paycheck. Luckily, we had somewhere to go. We are living with my mother-in-law. This is good for all of us, really. The kids are getting to spend much more time with her, we are paying her rent and helping her around the house and property(she has 40 acres), and we can now save up money for our big move in a year. 

It has been tough, for sure. I am a very independent person. This whole thing has been a big blow to my ego. I was trying to keep us afloat and failed(in my eyes). I have never been kicked out of a house. I miss the river. I miss privacy and being able to do things my way. However, it has also eased a lot of stress. We have downsized our possessions immensely. I am learning many things in a lot of areas of my life. I am working less. My honey is back in school and is now bringing in a majority of the money. We don’t have a much for daycare options, so I am now staying home mostly full time with my little ones. I am learning to slow down, and to appreciate what I do have. We are making a big move out of state in a year, and so I am learning to appreciate the people in my life, my surroundings, this community. 

Change can be hard. Change is a part of life, however. 

Leave a Reply

